CCISD Dyslexia Program

Dyslexia Services

Dyslexia is a condition of varying degrees, therefore the needs of each student with dyslexia are different. Some students with dyslexia may not have any needs, some may require direct instruction and Section 504 accommodations, and yet others have severe dyslexia and need specially designed instruction including a modified curriculum and accommodations.

CCISD is proud of our dyslexia program. We have dyslexia teachers assigned to each campus to provide services to students who are referred for a dyslexia assessment or have been identified with dyslexia. These services include:

  • Assessment for dyslexia;
  • Direct dyslexia instruction;
  • Recommendations to Section 504 and ARD committees regarding appropriate accommodations and support for students identified with dyslexia;
  • Collaboration with classroom teachers to better meet the needs of the students;
  • Re-assessments for dyslexia every three years;
  • Providing resources to student and parents to support needs in and out of school;
  • Monitoring student progress.


Direct Dyslexia Instruction

For the student who has not benefited from the research-based core reading instruction, the components of instruction will include additional specialized instruction as appropriate for the reading needs of the student with dyslexia. It is important to remember that while intervention is most preventative when provided in kindergarten and first grade, older children with reading disabilities will also benefit from focused and intensive remedial instruction.

Instructional decisions for a student with dyslexia must be made by a committee (§504 or ARD) that is knowledgeable about the instructional components and approaches for students with dyslexia. In accordance with 19 TAC §74.28(c), districts shall purchase or develop a reading program for students with dyslexia and related disorders that incorporates all the components of instruction and instructional approaches described in the Dyslexia Handbook.

At the elementary level, direct instruction is provided in small groups in a pull-out model (the student leaves the classroom to receive specialized instruction). The scope and sequence of the dyslexia instruction program takes approximately two to three years to complete.

For students who have completed the majority of the elementary dyslexia instruction program and continue to require instructional support, or students identified late in their academic career, instruction is also offered at the intermediate school level. This instruction is provided in a pull-out model where the student is pulled from an elective course to receive instruction. The instruction at the intermediate level typically takes one year to complete.

Few students continue to require direct instruction at the high school level. However, if it is necessary, the student will be assigned a reading class with a trained teacher in place of an elective. This instruction usually take one to two semesters to complete.

Both the teacher of dyslexia and the regular classroom teacher should provide multiple opportunities to support intervention and to strengthen these skills; therefore, responsibility for teaching reading and writing must be shared by classroom teachers, reading specialists, interventionists, and teachers of dyslexia programs.


Accommodations

By receiving specialized instruction that contains the components described in this chapter, the student with dyslexia is better equipped to meet the demands of grade-level or course instruction. In addition to specialized instruction, accommodations provide the student with dyslexia effective and equitable access to grade-level or course instruction in the general education classroom.

Accommodations are changes to materials, actions, or techniques, including the use of technology, that enable students with disabilities to participate meaningfully in grade-level or course instruction. The use of accommodations occurs primarily during classroom instruction as educators use various instructional strategies to meet the needs of each student. A student may need an accommodation only temporarily while learning a new skill, or a student might require the accommodation throughout the school year or over several years. Accommodations are not a one size fits all; rather, the impact of dyslexia on each individual student determines the accommodation.

Listed below are examples of reasonable classroom accommodations:

  • Copies of notes (e.g., teacher- or peer-provided)
  • Additional time on class assignments and tests
  • Fewer items given on a classroom test or homework assignment without eliminating concepts, or student planner to assist with assignments
  • Priority seating assignment
  • Oral reading of directions or written material
When making decisions about accommodations, instruction is always the foremost priority. Not all accommodations used in the classroom are allowed during a state assessment. However, an educator’s ability to meet the individual needs of a student with dyslexia should not be limited by whether an accommodation is allowable on a state assessment. 

Dyslexia and Vision

Clear Creek ISD does not support the use of colored overlays or vision therapy to alleviate dyslexia or other reading difficulties. For more information on this topic, go to:
Irlen Colored Overlays Do Not Alleviate Reading Difficulties
Learning Disabilities, Dyslexia and Vision
When Educational Promises Are Too Good To Be True
Vision Therapy


Campus Dyslexia Staff

Elementary Schools

     

Campus

Teacher

email

Phone

Armand Bayou ES

Kristie Graves

kgraves@ccisd.net

281-284-9659

Bauerschlag ES

Tonya Reed

treed@ccisd.net

281-284-9164

Bay ES

Jodi Low

jlow@ccisd.net

281-284-8988

Brookwood ES

Leah Moore

lemoore@ccisd.net

281-284-5600

Clear Lake City ES

Stephanie O'Dowd

sodowd@ccisd.net

281-284-4200

Falcon Pass ES

Kristie Graves

kgraves@ccisd.net

281-284-9659

Ferguson ES

Karen Holm

kholm@ccisd.net

281-284-5523

Goforth ES

Lisa Cann

lcann@ccisd.net

281-284-7744

Gilmore ES

Nancy Gruener

ngruener@ccisd.net

281-284-6400

Greene ES

Pam Thomas

pathomas@ccisd.net

281-284-5080

Hall ES

Anne Miller

amiller@ccisd.net

281-284-5314

Hyde ES

Melissa Hoover

mhoover1@ccisd.net

281-284-5800

Landolt ES

Cristina Woodall

mwoodall@ccisd.net

281-284-5200

League City ES

Nancy Wright

nwright@ccisd.net

281-284-4400

McWhirter ES

Gloria Licona

glicona@ccisd.net

281-284-4877

Mossman ES

Stephanie Klingman

sklingma@ccisd.net

281-284-7815

North Pointe ES

Stephanie O'Dowd

sodowd@ccisd.net

281-284-5900

Parr ES

Traci Hyde

thyde@ccisd.net

281-284-9783

Robinson ES

Shelley Armstrong

sarmstro@ccisd.net

281-284-9780

Ross ES

Robin Kennedy

rkennedy@ccisd.net

281-284-9553

Stewart ES

Margaret Suarez

msuarez@ccisd.net

281-284-4700

Ward ES

Jill Hemingson

jhemings@ccisd.net

281-284-6300

Weber ES

Lorry Bailey

lbailey@ccisd.net

281-284-7484

Wedgewood ES

Rhonda Christopherson

rchristo@ccisd.net

281-284-7320

Whitcomb ES

Suzanne Davis

sdavis2@ccisd.net

281-284-4900

White ES

Cyndi Jones

cjones1@ccisd.net

281-284-9554

Intermediate Schools

     

Campus

Teacher

email

Phone

Bayside IS

Melissa Morris

mmorris@ccisd.net

281-284-3175

Brookside IS

Diane Stuart

dstuart@ccisd.net

281-284-8726

Clear Creek IS

Laurie Adams

lladams@ccisd.net

281-284-2397

Clear Lake IS

Eileen Rohan

erohan@ccisd.net

281-284-3200

Creekside IS

Diane Stuart

dstuart@ccisd.net

281-284-3500

League City IS

Laurie Adams

lladams@ccisd.net

281-284-3400

Seabrook IS

Melissa Morris

mmorris@ccisd.net

281-284-3175

Space Center IS

Eileen Rohan

erohan@ccisd.net

281-284-3300

Victory Lakes IS

Tonya Reed

treed@ccisd.net

281-284-3700

Westbrook IS

Michelle Braaten

mbraaten@ccisd.net

281-284-3800

High Schools

     

Campus

Teacher

email

Phone

Clear Brook HS

Pam Thomas

pathomas@ccisd.net

281-284-5080

Clear Creek HS

Laurie Adams

lladams@ccisd.net

281-284-9519

Clear Falls HS

Jodi Low

jlow@ccisd.net

281-284-8988

Clear Horizons ECHS

Lisa Hardcastle

lhardcas@ccisd.net

281-284-0078

Clear Lake Ninth Grade

Eileen Rohan

erohan@ccisd.net

281-284-2400

Clear Lake HS

Jill Hemingson

jhemingso@ccisd.net

281-284-1900

Clear Springs HS

Robin Kennedy

rkennedy@ccisd.net

281-284-9553

Clear View HS

Charlotte LeBlanc-Ball

cleblanc@ccisd.net

281-284-0756

 

 

 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.