Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Clear Creek Independent School District Board of Trustees consists of seven elected members, 2 At-Large and 5 Districts, who are guardians of public trust. Board members are elected by the community and serve three year terms. The Board meets on average two times per month in a public forum. 

The members of the Board of Trustees are committed to serving the children and citizens of this school district. Their goal is to provide a high quality public education that meets the needs of our community. To achieve that goal, an operating protocol has been established that will help govern actions at meetings and in their role as trustees. The protocol will help enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of Board meetings while maintaining mutual respect and opportunities for communication. The success of Clear Creek ISD depends on a shared vision among the School Board, staff, parents and community, and they will try to the best of their ability to uphold these aspirations.

Board Responsibility

Board members:

  • Serve as advocates for the children and families they represent.
  • Focus on the best interests of Clear Creek ISD students. 
  • Are advocates for quality public education (they may not act privately on behalf of the Board).
  • Will make every attempt to attend all Board functions.


Board members:

  • Will work cooperatively with other board members, the superintendent and staff. They will be respectful of each other and the right to differing opinions.
  • Will accept responsibility for all Board decisions, regardless of how an individual voted. Board member confidentiality is expected regarding issues discussed in executive session. 
  • Will come prepared for each meeting.

Community Involvement

Board members:

  • Will be courteous to all participants and request the same courtesy in return.
  • Will respect the civil and human rights of all members of the school community. 
  • Will maintain objectivity. 
  • Will base decisions on the available facts and independent judgment, not special interest groups. 
  • Will make decisions in the best interests of the students' education, even when the decision may be unpopular for political or other reasons. 
  • Will remain open to new concepts, views and ideas.


Clear Creek ISD Board of Trustees 

Email the Entire Board

Board Trustee Jay CunninghamJay Cunningham
District 5

Term Expires: May 2024

Jay Cunningham has lived in the League City area for over 11 years and brings a wealth of knowledge about the district having served on the 2013 Bond, Strategic Planning, and INSIDE committees. Cunningham has also served as PTA President at Walter Hall Elementary. A district manager for a national air conditioning manufacturer specializing in indoor air quality and ventilation products, Cunningham earned a Bachelors of Economics from the College of William and Mary along with an Executive MBA from Texas Southern University in Finance. Mr. Cunningham has two children currently attending CCISD schools.

sanchezArturo Sanchez
District 3

Vice President
Term Expires: May 2023 

Arturo Sanchez works at NASA Johnson Space Center and is the Director of the External Relations Office. Sanchez started his career at NASA in 2000, as a graduate cooperative education intern and held positions in education, equal opportunity programs, community and government relations, communications and outreach. He worked at Texas Instruments (TI) in Dallas from 2006-2012, serving as the director of Education and Workforce Development leading TI’s corporate K-12 science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education programs, investments and regional strategic university relationships. He received a Bachelor of Business Administration from Texas A&M International University in Laredo and a Master of Public Service and Administration from the George Bush School of Government and Public Service, at Texas A&M University in College Station. Arturo and his wife Jayme have two children who are students in CCISD.

Board President Dr. Laura DuPontDr. Laura DuPont
District 1

Term Expires: May 2022

Dr. Laura DuPont was elected to the District 1 seat on the CCISD school board in May 2013. She has lived in League City for over 25 years and has been a veteran campus and District volunteer for over 16 years. She also served in numerous leadership roles for PTAs and booster clubs. Dr. DuPont earned the designation of Master Trustee after completing the 2018 Leadership TASB program. Dr. DuPont holds a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering, and was named to the Cowboy Academy of Industrial Engineering and Management at Oklahoma State University in 2018. She was a private consultant in Quality Engineering and Improvement and served as an Examiner for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award for six years. Dr. DuPont has three boys, one who currently attends Clear Falls High School and two who are CCISD alumni.

CottrellJonathan Cottrell
At-Large Position A

Term Expires: May 2024

Jonathan Cottrell is a product of Clear Creek ISD and has lived in the Bay Area for more than 35 years. He attended Hall Elementary, League City Intermediate, Clear Creek High School and graduated from Clear Lake High School in 1994. As a father of three daughters, Cottrell plays an active role in their education and athletics. As an active volunteer in CCISD and the community, he has served as PTA President at Gilmore Elementary and coached his daughters in volleyball through the local YMCA. Cottrell is a local small business owner of a real estate firm and active Realtor® for more than 10 years. He has served as a director on various boards including the Clear Lake Area Chamber of Commerce and Advisory Board of the Assistance League of the Bay Area and has led the Clear Creek Education Foundation as Chairman. Cottrell attended Blinn College, Texas A&M University, and the University of Houston – Clear Lake and holds a B.S. in History.

BowenScott Bowen
At-Large Position B

Term Expires: May 2022

Scott Bowen was elected to the At-Large Position B seat on the CCISD school board in May 2019. Bowen, a longtime resident of the Clear Lake area and graduate from Clear Lake High School, is a chemical engineer and earned his Master of Business Administration from Rice University.

LarsonJeff Larson
District 4

Term Expires: May 2024

Jeffrey Larson was elected to the District 4 seat on the CCISD board in May 2021. He has lived in District 4 for more than 35 years and is the proud father of a Clear Horizons Early College High School graduate. Larson holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree from Youngstown State University and a Master of Electrical Engineering degree from the University of Houston. He worked in NASA's Mission Control Center for more than 25 years and has a small business consulting in the space industry.

DavisMichelle Davis
District 2 

Term Expires: May 2023

Michelle Davis has served the Clear Creek Independent School District both as an employee and volunteer for more than 15 years. Davis has volunteered on the Clear Creek High School Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA) and campus instructional improvement committees and worked at both Clear Creek and Clear Brook high schools. 

Davis currently serves as Vice President of the South Shore Community Association. 

©2018 CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT | Powered by: SchoolMessenger | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Login